Independence Day

I loved the first movie, heard the sequel sucks.  But I love those stupid kinds of movies, I loved the Die Hard movies and used Yippie-ki-yay, Motherfucker frequently.  Hmm, I think we should bring that back.

I live in a town where the 4th is a big deal.  Not because people are patriotic, but because it’s Ribfest, food, music and $8 cups of beer.  Any excuse to take your kids to a festival and get drunk.  What’s happening to us? I’m sure it’s just because I’m an old fart but …come on people.  Beer bottles thrown on the side of the road, along with firecrackers, trashbags full of empties tossed in the neighborhoods, 30 something moms all bleary eyed at 3 in the afternoon carrying toddlers and plastic cups of wine, bouncing to the live music. Breaks my heart. We’re not independent, we’re addicted. I fucking was, not at 30 but certainly by my 50’s. Booze makes you stupid, no doubt about it.

When I think of the holiday I think of the state of our country, my country, torn apart right now like the UK, the Leaves and the stays, the walls and the prejudice incited by “He who shall not be named”.  I don’t know who started that on cyberspace, but I love it.  Personally I think Fuckwad suits him better,but I have a potty mouth and I’m not afraid to use it.  I’m afraid for us and U.S. and all. What’s happening to us…come on people.  Hate doesn’t look good on anyone.

Enough of my pontificating, sorry, I just needed to vent. On a happier note.  Husband #1 hit 180 a couple days ago and is still going, though he hasn’t set another goal. We found out our 5th grandchild, due late October will be a girl, Eve.  That will be 5 grandbabies under the age of 6. I need new running shoes. My son is nuts, 3 little ones 3 and under,( must get his sex drive from his mother, ahem).  God bless them. God bless me cause I’ll keep the new one until she’s 6 months old and off to daycare. My poor grandson surrounded by estrogen, I’ll have to introduce him to Indiana Jones and Bruce Willlis movies at an early age. Yippee-Ki-yay, Grammy. My legacy when they’re older, I’m gone and they’re discussing Grammy. Remember her sweet hugs,love of dogs, her weird sneakers and her taste in sci fi and action flicks.

My Independence Day will be July 28, 3 years sober. Wow. It’s more like a birthday, a rebirth. I found me again 3 years ago. No looking back, life’s too full to let idiots bring me down.

We are all warriors together, the battle of the bottle and we are awesome. You know how I want to end this.  As John McClane said in Die Hard……

image

Sharon

 

9 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. My legacy when they’re older, I’m gone and they’re discussing Grammy. Remember her sweet hugs,love of dogs, her weird sneakers and her taste in sci fi and action flicks.

    And…..how she swore like a gangsta rapper! (As do I…love swearing, tho I’m sure it’s restrained in front of all the wonderful g’babies)

    Congrtas on the upcoming anniversary – great going!

  2. My Independence Day is August 2, 2014, 2 years sober ! I’m 66 , so I came to my sobriety alittle long in the tooth as well. Thank you for being a voice out there showing me it’s not only not to late but the best is yet to come.

  3. Celebrating with you! Also celebrating MY every day sober thanks to you and this blog. Your interest and personal effort to reach out and check on me in the ‘early’ days made all the difference in my commitment and believing I could do this. I’m turning 66 in a few days, and my goal of Sober at 66 is going to be a reality. Thanks to a lot of help from you! I am incredibly busy in my new sober life and while each day may not be a holiday, it’s a day I remember, I engage in, and appreciate. Yippee Ki Yay, indeed!

  4. Hello I am 63 and struggling to get. Sober again . I lost my sobriety a few year back and it has been much harder coming back this time. Day 3 as a matter of fact. I had freakin 20 when I picked up on the 7th . Shit yeah after the fourth go figure . Love this post
    Just found it
    Buggy

Leave a comment