By the Numbers

#1. It’s a BOY!!! I now have a grandSON to add to the three little princesses running around dancing to Let It Go! Time for ninja turtles and trucks! My son won’t admit it but he’s thrilled, said now he’ll have someone to watch basketball with him.

imageI don’t look so good here but he’s gorgeous.

#2. On January 28th, Olive the Puppy will be 8 months old and I will be 18 months sober. Fuck Yes!! I’ve felt pretty good lately, not really many cravings. I’ve had a short fuse with husband #1 however, I really wish he’d give up the wine.  The beer I don’t mind cause I don’t like it,but white wine was my drink of choice. Olive, however, has come into her own and isn’t my perfect little puppy anymore so we’re starting a manners class on Saturday.

image

#3. Starting this Whole 30 nonsense tomorrow.  Doing it with my daughter, she’s trying to lose some weight and has a hard time by herself. Going without sugar is really going to be hard for me.  How the hell can I give up my trips to Starbucks for mochas and replace them with coffee with coconut milk? Yuck!  But I’m gonna try.

Normally #1 and I go vegetarian for the month of January, this is the 4th year for that, but we’re stopping early.  Good thing because I was getting really bored this year.  And I spend so much time trying to find flavorful, different recipes it gets old fast. Now I can devote myself to more time sucking by finding different, flavorful recipes for Whole 30.

I’ve read online, (more time sucking) that you get N A S T Y after a few days without sugar. Should be interesting since I wear the crown of Queen Bitch now and going veggie doesn’t make me Miss Congeniality either. Hope I don’t kick the spouse (oh wait, maybe I do) so hope I don’t kick the dog or yell at the mail”person”. Though Ralph bit her several years ago so yelling shouldn’t phase her.

I have in my head that this Whole 30 thing will be like the first 30 days of not drinking and that just totally sucked the big one. (Just let out a major sigh).

So, I’m an addict, addicted to alcohol (formerly), addicted to Starbucks, addicted to sugar, a saltaholic. Have way too many pairs of Keen shoes and Bobbi Brown cosmetics. Oh and majorly hooked on J.D. Robb’s In Death series but only the audio versions, the narrator is outstanding. Should I go on…hell no! Seems I have a problem. Who knew?

image

So in preparation for tomorrow’s deprivation, (rhymed haha) I’ve had 4 oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and two venti mochas (no whip of course), 2 lemon scones for breakfast and two pieces of Texas toast for dinner. Sugar and starch hangover tomorrow and then withdrawal. Shit, why, why, why? Because I love my daughter and myself.  I mean, what’s not to love??

I just read this before I pushed the publish button, I damn well didn’t fucking swear nearly enough. Must be the sugar!

12 thoughts on “By the Numbers

  1. You look wonderful, Sharon, and that baby boy is beautiful!!!!! Congratulations to you and your family. Once you get past the first few days of no sugar I bet you will feel great! Keep us updated! I have been thinking of doing that but I had to clear out all of the holiday chocolate first… 🙂

  2. Oh my God you make me laugh!! Congratulations on your new grandson! I have three granddaughters too – we’ve got an order in for a boy, but we’ll see if our kids cooperate. And, WOOHOO for 18 months sober!! That is AWESOME and so are you. Please keep posting and let us know how that ‘no sugar’ BS is going – big hugs!

  3. Your grandson is beautiful! and so are you. I have 3 granddaughter princesses as well, and am hoping for a grandson sometime. I have been amazed with your journey. I have started a 100 day challenge for the second time and am almost to 30. Really hope I can make it this time, but I feel like I have been drinking for soon long!. Anyway you are an inspiration to me and all the other over 60’s out there. I, too, am addicted to all of those other things; sugar and coffee particularly, but one thing at a time.

  4. Congratulation on the Grandson!!! Good luck with Olive!! That is why as much as I LOVE puppies I rescued a 3 year old Alaskan Malamute when I lost my beloved GDS a few months ago. I have a 1 1/2 year old grandson I pick up from day care everyday & I knew a puppy would never get the training it would need right now!!! I echo tinajeannne27 I love knowing I’m not the only over 60 fighting the good fight – 264 days today!

  5. I LOVE this post!!! (And you of course.) Congratulations on the new baby boy. You BOTH look stunning.

    I remember writing a post in the first week of my Whole 30…something about me and the hubs and a knife. Yeah…I was a little grumpy.

    I liked the way I felt when it was over but it’s just too damn hard for me to live that way full time. It did make me aware of the way different things impact me but shit – no sugar forever – no fucking way Kemo Sabe. This is one I’ll HAVE to learn to moderate. I’ve given up everything else! (Gratefully)

    Enjoy your thirty days and if you ever feel the need to drop an f-bomb, I’m always around.

    Sherry

  6. Hello my friend! So happy to hear of your 18 month soberversary. I’m hitting 600 days on the 31st. Have not heard of the whole 30 challenge but I will look it up. That’s my next vice to conquer as well. Once we get through all of our addictions, we’ll be damn perfect! Hugs!

  7. Congratulations on your Grandson! He’s gorgeous and you’re beautiful and together you make a sight for sore eyes. Cute puppy too. Good luck on the Whole30. I have done sugar-quits before, and can attest it makes me more prone to irritability and sadness. I also paid attention to what I was eating and enjoyed flavors and textures so much more. I learned a lot, and I bet you will too. Good luck to you, hope you’ll write about your experience.

Leave a Reply

