Calendar

I said I would quit before my 50th birthday.  I said I would not reach the age of 55 and still be drinking like a fish. ( How does a fish drink, by the way!  Where in the hell do we come up with these stupid expressions and what little asshole makes them up!) I swore I would stop by the time I reached 60.  I had my last drink at 61 just 2 months shy of my 62nd birthday.  I can’t waste any more time on regrets.  I can’t go backward. I can’t change a damn thing. I choose to move forward one step at a time. Present and future in my sights. 

I have a Seize the Day, page-a-day calendar.  Today’s quote, not by a little asshole I might add. It’s from Will Rogers, but I bet there’s several out there that might think he was an ass. He was a cowboy for God’s Sake.  Anyway, “Don’t let yesterday use up too much of today”.   I’m not.

 

8 thoughts on “Calendar

  1. Your post comes at an interesting time in my trip down the sobriety road. I am on day 43, feeling awesome, not pink cloud kind of awesome, but the kind of awesome that you feel when you have jumped hurdles without knocking any down, and the race isn’t over yet, but you know you still have energy.
    I think getting sober follows the stages of grief: step one, denial and isolation. That is how I was about my drinking. I didn’t have a problem, it was everyone else’ s problem with me. So, to continue to drink in my way, I would start early, alone, and end late, alone. Hide the bottles, etc.
    I am now at the angry step. WHY did I waste so many years? Why didn’t I do this sooner? Why didn’t I listen to anyone when they said they thought I had a problem?
    I feel so good every day now, I could have felt this way every day for the last 30 years!
    Your ending quote hits the nail on the head. I like to say, Stop wishing your life away, but that is for the future. Your quote fits the now. I will work through this, and try not to let the past take any more of my days.
    Thank you for your post. It is always nice to find like minded people.

  2. I have always said the same things. ON my 50th blah blah. I don’t want to turn 60 and know I have wasted 10 years talking about it. I want to be a fit old lady not dying fat and breathless and die early from some cig or booze related disease. I want to be like the 90 year old yoga women out there even though I have fibromyalgia and can’t touch my toes… I think we just keep doing research until it clicks and each time we hope this is it and some day, It will be!!!!

  3. Wow, that’s a great quote! I’ve started thinking of drinking like that: When I drank in an evening, it was very fun, relaxing, satisfying that evening, but I was borrowing energy and goodness from the next day: The mental fog, the less-than-restful sleep, the What-is-the-least-I-can-do-to-get-by instead of the What’s-going-to-be-fabulous-today?. In a way, it was stealing from tomorrow to anesthetize today. As I said, Wow!

  4. Love the quote. I’m still thinking about the wasted time and hope that as I get more days of sobriety that will diminish. I had to laugh out loud at the idea of little assholes making up stupid expressions.

  5. Inspiring! I never thought I “drank like a fish” until I realized that a fish cannot live without water, and I was having trouble functioning without alcohol! Once I quit, I felt like a fish out of water! Now that I have some months away from the bottle (15 to be exact) I finally feel like a human being again.

Leave a Reply

