Out Tonight

Tonight was my book club’s annual Christmas outing.  We usually buy books for the needy and then go to dinner.  We mixed it up a little tonight and went shopping first and then dinner.  We shopped at War Chest, Woman At Risk. Items are handmade and lovely. We went to dinner. I ordered a tonic and lime. Some of the girls knew I had stopped drinking, I initially said for health reasons.  A friend who had not attended the last couple months meetings was shocked to hear that I quit drinking in July.  I surprised myself as I said, “I was drinking too much.  It had become a problem so I quit.” It felt good to be honest, these are my friends I’ve known for years.  I drank with them for years. So now it’s out there, I’m out there.

The girl that was unaware looked at me and said, “boy, I wish I had your strength and will.” I always drank the most, she ran a close second.  Maybe my honesty will get her to slow down.

Speaking the truth was so cathartic, it made me feel very free, more weight off my shoulders.  I still don’t like the A word,  maybe with time I’ll get used to it. But I don’t mind saying that my drinking was getting out of hand.

We had a great time, I think I laughed the most sans alcohol and I paid attention to my friends, really paid attention. I wasn’t constantly wondering when I could order another glass of wine and trying to get the others to do the same so I didn’t feel guilty. There are lots of firsts on this sober journey.

 

4 thoughts on “Out Tonight

  1. Yes these little gatherings – especially during the holidays – can be stressful. I found it very empowering to admit my alcoholism. I’ve told my story to my husband, two daughters, neighbor, and two other good friends. My family was a necessary conversation. The other three …well I just felt like being transparent with them. None of the three are big drinkers anyway, so probably didn’t understand the enormity of it. It just felt good to be “real.”

Leave a Reply

