Thanksgiving

So the build up for the big meal begins.  We spend hours planning, excuse me, I spend hours planning, trying to come up with new side dishes the family will eat. There will be 7 adults and 3 little ones.  I was the biggest drinker, well, my husband can put it away but he always stops at dinner.  I went on and on and on.  

I’ll be sober this year.  I don’t have the pressures others have where they need strategies to stay sober.  It’s just my family and they know I’m not drinking for at least 180 days.  They don’t know it’s Belle’s challenge (except my husband).  They think it’s a wellness thing I’m doing.  Actually it’s that too, so not really a lie.

One of the perks is that I’ll actually be able to taste my food.  I was drinking so much before meals that I could taste very little.  My sense of smell is still not the greatest but it has improved since I got off the wine-go-round.  

I shake my head at myself when I think back to what was happening to me and I would still drink.  After two glasses of wine I would get all stuffed up, start sneezing and snorting.  I think I was developing an allergy to the sulfites in the wine, but still I drank.  I couldn’t taste my food, but still I drank. I couldn’t remember what someone said or the previous scene on television, or sometimes even what I was watching, but I kept drinking. Don’t you wonder how we can be so smart but we let alcohol make us so frickin stupid!

Everything looks, smells and especially tastes better without the booze.  

The family does the Turkey Trot (5K) every year.  I’ll be walking it with a clear head and clear eyes on Thursday with the people I love most in this world.  Sober And Grateful, you bet.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. Just wanted to say thank you for your blog. I am 58 and trying once more to gain sobriety in my life. I can so relate to your posts. Thanksgiving was nice this year – I like you – could actually taste my food and wonders of wonders it came out good. I remember all too well the countless meals I prepared in a half stupor never knowing if they would turn out or not….now it feels good – and everything was perfect! go figure – lol!!

Leave a Reply

